Birth of an International Festival

Portrait du président du Festival, Jean Masmontet

First of all, it is the meeting of 2 friends: Jean Masmontet, who had just arrived in Béarn for his retirement, and Pierre Bibault, a guitar conservatory teacher who was in search of a place to give a summer Master Class. Why Lahontan? In 2016, Jean Masmontet launched the creation of an association, acquired legal support for the event, and proposed to his friend to organize the physical conditions for the Masterclasses: accommodation of the trainees and teachers, auditions at the end of the internship. To thank the Lahontanese residents for their welcome, Jean Masmontet asked Pierre to give a concert for the inhabitants of the village.
The Duo Résonances, composed of Frédérique LUZY and Pierre BIBAULT gave the first classical guitar concert in Lahontan.
The village was won over by the young artists and their concert.
The 2 friends, delighted with the success of the first event, without delay, very quickly imagined a sequel: 2017 was to be the first edition of the International Guitar Festival in Béarn.
The Association “Les musicales de Lahontan” is expanding, currently with almost 100 members.
Its objectives are to bring classical music via the Festival to a territory where it is not sufficiently present and to create the conditions for the encounter between the inhabitants of Lahontan and musicians from all over the world.
In the first week of July, the Béarnais village of only 500 inhabitants, receives Russians, Thais, Poles, Americans, Brazilians, Italians, and Belgians… They are lodged with the locals and musicians and trainees share their meals in the small restaurants of Lahontan, creating a family atmosphere greatly appreciated by concert performers more accustomed to international stages.

Our Partners

Naissance d’un Festival International

Guitare de 4m50 de haut posée en presence d'artistes, realisateurs et organisateurs du Festival Internation de Guitare en Béarn

Portrait du président du Festival, Jean Masmontet

C’est d’abord la rencontre de 2 amis : Jean Masmontet nouvellement arrivé en Béarn pour sa retraite et Pierre Bibault, professeur de guitare en conservatoires, à la recherche d’un lieu pour donner une Master Classe d’été. Pourquoi Lahontan ? En 2016, Jean Masmontet lance la création d’une association, support juridique de l’évènement, et propose à son ami d’organiser les conditions matérielles de la Master Classe : hébergement des stagiaires et du professeur, audition de fin de stage. Pour remercier les Lahontanais de leur accueil, Jean Masmontet, demande demande à Pierre de faire un concert pour les habitants du village.
C’est le Duo Résonances, composé de Frédérique LUZY et Pierre BIBAULT, qui donne le premier concert de guitare classique à Lahontan.
Le village est conquis par les jeunes et par le concert.
Les 2 compères, ravis de cette première imaginent très vite une suite, et n’hésitent pas longtemps : 2017 sera la première édition du Festival International de guitare en Béarn.
L’Association « Les musicales de Lahontan » s’étoffe : aujourd’hui elle compte presque 100 membres.
Ses objectifs, à travers le Festival sont d’amener la musique classique dans un territoire où elle n’est pas assez présente et de créer les conditions de la rencontre entre les habitants de Lahontan et les musiciens venus du monde entier.

La première semaine de juillet voit le village Béarnais de 500 habitants recevoir Russes, Thaïlandais, Polonais, Américains, Brésiliens, Italiens, Belges… Ils sont logés chez l’habitant. Musiciens et stagiaires prennent leurs repas en commun dans le petit restaurant de Lahontan créant ainsi une ambiance familiale que les concertistes habitués des scènes internationales apprécient énormément.

Vous voulez participer à l’aventure ?

Nos partenaires